Bob Dylan’s Banjo Tape

Do you have a box filled with old tapes? Bootlegs and the like? I do but, like other things, that box has shrunk. Summer of ’97 was spent in Alaska, my roommate went on a road trip and borrowed like everything I’d brought, which included my Dylan treasure chest. (Remember travelling with tapes?) So of course the car got totalled rounding some Alaska bend late some booze-addled night. The driver was fine, the cops never showed (which is a great quality of Alaska cops), but the tapes, lost forever. Bubbled into the dashboard. Ruined.

tapes

Although I don’t hitchhike into the Alaskan night anymore, I can still channel those good times. Dylan helps. Today, a happy discovery. Bob Dylan’s Banjo Tape (aka NYC Town Hall Tape, aka HappyTraum Tape) is available for download over at Broadcaster House. Most songs are incomplete, much of it is a very young Dylan fucking around, but the obsessed will find much to enjoy.

Question: when Dylan says, “If I could do it all over again/Baby, I’d do it all over you,” what is he talking about?

This Broadcaster House website, btw, what a treat.  The whole website is a treasure trove – Wilco, Grant Lee Buffalo, Nirvana, all sorts of music many of us loved 10 years ago, and still do. Anyway, go download the Bob Dylan Banjo Tape now.

One Response to “Bob Dylan’s Banjo Tape”

  1. sex chat lines Says:

    I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this
    blog. I’m hoping to see the same high-grade content from you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my very own website now 😉

Leave a Reply

