Indie Rock Smackdown: Flaming Lips vs. Arcade Fire

In Rolling Stone, of Arcade Fire, says Wayne Coyne of The Flaming Lips:

“I’m a fan of them on one level, but on another level I get really tired of their pompousness … We’ve played some shows with them and they really treat people like shit. Whenever I’ve been around them, I’ve found that they not only treated their crew like shit, they treated the audience like shit. They treated everybody in their vicinity like shit. I thought, ‘Who do they think they are?’ I don’t know why people put up with it. I wouldn’t put up with it. I don’t care if it’s Arcade Fire or Brian Eno. If either of them walked into a room and treated people like shit I’d be like, ‘Fuck you, get outta here.’

Some balls on that guy, taking on the awesome, beloved, populist (the drummer running through the audience kind of populism), ennui-plagued but totally rockin’ Arcade Fire. As an admirer of T.S. Elliot, no, wait, too snooty…as an admirer of Amy Winehouse, I’m personally of the school that says the job of the artist is not to be nice and palatable. And so I don’t care how a rock star treats his crew. (How they treat their audience? Awesome! Who doesn’t love  a drummer running through the crowd?)

Win Butler jumps into the fray:

I hope I was less of a “Prick” then telling Rollingstone that a bunch of people I don’t know at all are really a bunch of assholes.

And everybody is commenting and amused and outraged and whatever. Personally, I like my rock stars pompous, strung out, and speaking from a place of frayed and exposed nerves. Plus don’t indie rock fans deserve some of the joy usually shelved for followers of Paris and Brittney (remember Paris and Brittney?)?

Wouldn’t a battle of the bands between these two just rock it so totally much? They must fight…to the death…but with guitars…

(H/T: Three Imaginary Girls)

Leave a Reply

